Rear Drag Verses Front Drag Reels

smerchly

I'm not an expert on the inner workings of spinning reels and I have a few rear drag reels which I can say I do not like the drag system as well as my better quality front drag reels . I have had my two Shimano 2500 rear drag reels freeze up in cold weather . I think most anglers prefer the front drags . One of my reels has both .....the bait runner used for carp . One would think it must be more complicated , but they are not expensive ....about $60 -$80 for an average one . Going back many years ago , the very simple Cardinal reels had a rear drag and proved to be a great little reel . Any input here from guys who have a better understanding of drag systems ?

The Shimano may be freezing up, literally. My front drag Shimano's from years past had cheap felt washers that froze when water/moisture got in. The one reel actually had chunks of felt coming out of the drag housing of the spool. Rear drags do not necessarily have the bigger surface area to perform at their best as well.

I've always preferred front drag reels because I think they are smoother. In cold weather reels with at most 5 BB work best. I have a 10 bb Quantum that doesn't preform well in cold weather. I checked with Aikmans to see if they had a cure and he told me all reels with that many BB aren't designed to be fished in winter and suggested to find a reel with 3 BB.

You could be right rile , my 2500 Sedona has a push button pop off spool which doesn't allow adjustment from the front ....but somewhere in the reel the drag will not adjust when it's close to zero C. The drag wheel will turn but the drag tension doesn't change ....maybe replace the old grease with hot sauce . :) I suppose the casting type reels don't have this problem .